Place Bucket List (Northeast Edition)

This post is inspired by Adventures in Preservation blog post, which asked readers what buildings were on our bucket lists, as well as my the last Thoughts For Thursday of 2012, a feature that will return soon.  I must admit that my mother was horrified to learn that I had a bucket list, saying that I’m much to young, to which I said my bucket was enormous and not to worry.  I think that calmed her down.  What can I say?  I always know where I want to go, even if I don’t always know what I want to do.

As this is a New Year, and I have already shared my resolutions, I feel it appropriate to also share this part of my bucket list.

*Note: The regions I have given these states in this and upcoming posts are how I have come to rationalize them for this purpose (and to prevent any one post from being too long), not necessarily how these regions are defined by any government entity.

Rhode Island:

  • Swan Point Cemetery
  • Paine House
  • Block Island
  • Culinary Arts Museum

Massachusetts:

  • The Mount
  • Mount Auburn Cemetery
  • Forest Hills Cemetery
  • Tanglewood
  • The Big E
  • Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art
  • Lowell National Historical Park
  • Gloucester

Connecticut:

  • Barnum Museum
  • Mark Twain House
  • Norwalk
  • Wadsworth Atheneum
  • Yale

Vermont:

  • Vermont Marble Museum
  • Billings Farm and Museum, Woodstock
  • King Arthur Flour
  • Bennington
  • Trapp Family Lodge

New Hampshire:

  • Mount Washington
  • Polar caves
  • Kancamagus Highway
  • Ruggle’s Mine
  • Castle in the Clouds
  • Rhododendron State Park

Maine:

  • Portland
  • Bar Harbor
  • Acadia National Park
  • Wedding Cake House, Kennebunk
  • Mount Hope Cemetery, Bangor
  • Rockport

New York:

  • Empire State Building
  • Statue of Liberty
  • 9/11 Memorial
  • Howe Caverns
  • Herkimer Diamond Mine
  • Buffalo
  • Hyde Park
  • Olana
  • Coney Island

I wonder how many I’ll visit this year!

Think something should be added to my list? Let me know!

This entry was posted in Exploration, Place and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think

