Tragedy and Place

I was going to write a belated Thoughts for Thursday (on Friday!) today, but given the events that occurred in Newtown, Connecticut today, it just didn’t feel right.

It feels that I was just writing my thoughts on another tragedy, about a movie theater in Aurora, Colorado, about how we expect places like the movies to be safe and that they are the places we go to to escape the harsh realities of the world like what happened there…and what happened today.

We expect schools to be among the safest places to send our children, and that if a school shooting were to happen it would not happen at an elementary school where the students are so little.  They are terrible no matter where they happen, and no matter the age of the victims.  I cannot begin to imagine what those of Newtown and the surrounding communities are are going through tonight, and although I do not have children, I immediately thought of my close friends who are parents and of those who are just beginning their teaching careers, for this must have hit them even harder than it hit me.  I am sad tonight that there were innocent lives lost, and innocent lives that have been forever changed, and that there are children who will never see school as the wonderful and safe place that I did growing up. 

My heart goes out to all of those touched by this horrible event, this terrible tragedy.

So I hope you hold those you love a bit more closely tonight.  Thank you all for reading, I appreciate each and every one of you.

This entry was posted in Community, Place and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tragedy and Place

  1. ljellis2000 says:

    If only America was a place where mass shootings with assault weapons didn’t take place so many more lives could be saved.

  2. I don’t even know what to think about this. There is something truly broken in this world.

Tell me what you think

