Thoughts for Thursday: Cemetery Supplies

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I enjoy historic cemeteries and have attended a restoration workshop, installed headstones for Civil War soldiers, and attended a cemetery cleanup and helped reset stones there.  On December 1st, I took part in another fall cleanup, but didn’t get pictures (I’ll go back for some as the cemetery is huge and has a lot of neat stones).

As a result of living in a number of places over the last few years, I have yet to create my own collection of cemetery restoration/preservation tools.  I’ve seen a number of examples, so I have some idea of what needs to go into my kit, but what do you think I should include?

So far I have an empty bucket that once contained 35 lbs of cat litter, so here’s your chance to weigh in on what else I should get.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

This entry was posted in Cemetery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thoughts for Thursday: Cemetery Supplies

  1. Don’t know anything about cemetery restoration, so can’t help with your search for tools. But I love cemeteries and hope to participate in at least a couple of cemetery clean-up/preservation efforts this year. So I hope you get your kit developed in time for me to use the information!

  2. Dave says:

    I’d include several larger crayons and some newsprint in larger sheets which have been folded and sealed in plastic bags for copying difficult to read headstones. I’d include a handheld GPS unit to capture the location of stones, and correlate those points to a digital camera. Using these two you can create neat KML ~ Google Earth Maps. From a tool point of view, a 5 inch pointing trowel for clearing around the base, as well as a whisk broom, small tape measure, and handheld root clippers.

    • Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your suggestions, and LOVE the idea of creating the maps!

    • ljellis2000 says:

      I’m ‘old school’ here, so please forgive me. What is “KML”? Could you elaborate more how you use crayons and newsprint (newspaper?) for copying difficult to read headstones? I’m not following along too well. Have you checked out:
      http://news.namesinstone.com/

      There are several places on line with mapping tools. I haven’t gotten into them but would like to learn more on how they actually work. What uses do you have for your tape measure?

  3. Pingback: Cemetery Supply Kit | Preservation and Place

  4. Pingback: Preservation Resolutions | Preservation and Place

  5. I am with History Tourist: no idea what one needs for cemetery restoration, but would love to take part one day. I look forward to your thoughts on the tools. (Spring bulbs for some reason come to mind–as in, clearing off weeds and planting bulbs around, but that’s probably completely inappropriate for historic cemeteries… Or most American cemeteries)

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by! There are a few cemeteries that I am aware of that do allow bulb (or at least flower) planting, but primarily only for descendants of those buried at the particular plot. The reasoning for having those sorts of plants allows groundskeepers to avoid getting close to the stone when mowing…but then that leads to another set of care issues (annuals versus perennials is only one to consider).

Tell me what you think

