Thoughts for Thursday: Toys Part 2

Preservation and Place took some time off for Thanksgiving.  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and that if you participated in Black Friday or Cyber Monday that you also took part in Small Business Saturday.

Today’s Thoughts for Thursday follows that from November 15 about the National Toy Hall of Fame’s induction of Star Wars action figures and Dominoes.

First, I love the idea that there is a National Toy Hall of Fame because, why not?  I love that it celebrates play and childhood, and if you still enjoy some of the inducted toys like me (Monopoly, anyone?), it celebrates the young at heart.

Second, I’m happy that not all of the items inducted are toys by intent.  As much as I love that Monopoly, The Game of Life, Scrabble, and the Slinky have been inducted, among others, I’m thrilled to see the box, stick, and blanket included.  Who didn’t play with those three things as a kid and imagine oneself as a pirate, a superhero, or anything really.

Third, this could have been a banner year for toys, as I could see any of the toys making it and each year is not limited to only two toys gaining entry.  Last year, there were three.  Now, admittedly I’m not a huge Star Wars fan nor did I play a lot of Dominoes, but I do think that they stand on their own and are worthy of their place in the Hall of Fame.  I do however think that others should have been included, which is why I posed the question on the 15th asking what toy you would have liked to see inducted over or with the two that made it.

If we had it our way, Lite-Brite would have been inducted as well.  Clue followed closely behind (does anyone else remember the VHS card game version?).  Magic 8-Ball, Twister, the Tea Set, and Little Green Army Men all had one vote.

Thank you to those who took part in the Facebook poll or answered that question in the comment section on the blog, via Twitter, or on my personal page when I shared the poll question there.

This entry was posted in Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts for Thursday: Toys Part 2

  1. I participated exclusively in Small Business Saturday and Cyber Monday. I’m not a huge fan of the big black friday lines at the superstores like Walmart. You can usually get better deals online these days anyway.

Tell me what you think

