House Tales

This house is from Cooperstown, NY.  Northeast corner.

I, like many of you, enjoy architectural history.  Spending a year conducting architectural field surveys did not deter that enjoyment in the slightest, actually it reaffirmed it.  Part of my survey work included writing a building history for each surveyed resource.  I was fortunate that many of the buildings had interesting histories, but there were a handful that didn’t, and sometimes, even if the histories were interesting the structure itself had me imagining a totally different story to fit what I saw.

So I am trying something new with House Tales (title subject to change, any ideas?).  I will give you a couple of pictures of a house/building/structure/object and I would love to have you all share what you think its story could be.  After I have a few stories from you all, I’ll share the portion of its history that I find most interesting in a new post.

I hope you find it enjoyable and that you contribute.  I think this will be a fun way to share some historic houses (and more) with you all without going into a building description of its roof type, siding material, and foundation.

The house featured in this post is from Cooperstown, New York.  That’s all I’m going to tell you for now…

I look forward to reading what you come up with.  Don’t be afraid to think outside of the box. Have fun with it! 🙂

View from across the street.

The best view I have of the southeast corner.

Look closely in the two circles. What are those sticking out of the house? You can click on the picture to make it bigger, if needed.

This entry was posted in Architecture, Lighter Side and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House Tales

  1. Pingback: A Building’s Story | Preservation and Place

  2. Pingback: Followup Friday | Preservation and Place

Tell me what you think

