Providence Symposium 2012: My Tweets

This is Part 2 on my reflection of the Providence Symposium that I attended on 10/12. If you haven’t read it, you can do so here.

As I stated yesterday, I really enjoyed the symposium, but on a minor note, I wish that I had known about the Twitter hashtag for it in the morning as I would have tweeted the whole day…then again my phone would have died, so I guess it all worked out.  It was fun to interact with someone else via Twitter sitting in the same session.  I hope that by sharing my Tweets from the afternoon breakout session, we can continue the conversation here.

So, here they are.

  1. If you live in a local historic district, were you aware of it when you moved in? How long until you found out?
  2. As a preservationist, what preservation surprises have you experienced?
  3. Is it the actual shingles or the context that is important in a local historic district when it comes to preservation?
  4. “You may hate the building now, but your kids and grand kids may come to like it.”
  5. Should you need a building permit to build anew before you can demolish the existing building?
  6. Demolishing the building won’t get you your building permit faster, but it will keep a place’s context together longer.
  7. “At the end of the day, we are all concerned about the built environment.”
  8. “Who is authorized to speak for the neighborhood” when it comes to preservation?

Feel free to comment about any of them as they go beyond Providence and Rhode Island.  I look forward to hearing from you.

This entry was posted in Historic Preservation, Planning, Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think

