More on QR Codes in Cemeteries

It’s not often that I feel rather ahead of the curve, but when it comes to at least talking about QR Codes at cemeteries I do.  Although I can find a couple of articles prior to the NBC article I linked to on QR Codes in Cemeteries, my first post on this topic, the subject has since then caught on fire.  I’m not fully sure how internet personalization works, but at least for me, when I search for “QR Codes in Cemeteries” one of my previous two posts on the topic shows up somewhere within the first page, once it was even a top result!  Like I said, it could be a result of how often I go to my blog, but I like to pretend that I’m a trendsetter in this topic, at least.

The Huffington Post wrote an article just four days ago on the use of QR Codes and the companies that are providing the technology both here in the US and in the UK.  It also provides pictures to other places where QR Codes are showing up, including this corn maze.  At the end of the article, past the Twitter feed are links to seven more articles on the topic.

Even NPR got in on the subject with a segment on All Things Considered as well as an article.  The comments on this article are well worth reading as well, many on the longevity of this technology and the companies that are currently storing the information linked to by the code.

One of the comments mentions a short lived technological gadget called the CueCat, do you remember it?  I had one, and I’m sure it’s still tucked around somewhere.  It was a device that plugged into your computer via a USB port and it scanned product barcodes and brought you to the product’s website automatically.  I had a lot of fun with it for a short amount of time.  There are only so many things that one can scan with something attached to one’s computer, and ultimately the CueCat was viewed as a failure.  Some could say the technology died as one commenter claims, but did it?  Sure, the CueCat hasn’t worked since 2002 according to its website, but consumers still have access to barcode information.  The technology took on another form, as stores are still using barcodes and our smartphones have that ability as well.  Just as there are apps for reading QR codes, there are apps for reading barcodes, many that bring up price comparisons between the store you are at and its online competitors.

Do I think that QR Code technology will become obsolete?  I think it is possible, but I don’t see it at this point, despite the limited user base.  The technology could morph as it did from the wired CueCat, but it will still be there in some form.  After all, our phones will certainly change, but don’t be surprised if future phones automatically come with a reader negating the need to go download an app first.

I am curious as to the future of certain companies hosting the information linked to by a QR Code, but as long as there is a market for the technology, at least some will continue to exist.  If the sheer number of articles in the last few weeks on this topic is any indication, there is definitely a market.

There is a chance that I will be working on a project involving both QR Codes and Cemeteries, so if that pans out, stay tuned, for I will write about it and include pictures both here and on my Facebook page.

This entry was posted in Cemetery, Newsworthy, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think

